Who’s Your Lord?


Who is the Lord of your life? Take a few moments to consider and think about that question. Honestly, Who is Lord of your life? Are you Lord of your life? Is some thing or someone Lord over you? Is Jesus Lord of your life? Who has the final say in how you live your life? Who is in charge, in control, has the ultimate authority and supremacy? Who is the owner, master, king and God of your life? Who is LORD?

Do not read any further until you have an answer to that question…………………

Do you have an answer? Have you decided??? OK. Now the next question: Are you happy, satisfied, and content with your Lord ? 

Choose Whom You Will Serve

Joshua 24:
14 “Now therefore fear the Lord and serve him in sincerity and in faithfulness. Put away the gods that your fathers served beyond the River and in Egypt, and serve the Lord
15 And if it is evil in your eyes to serve the Lord, choose this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your fathers served in the region beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites in whose land you dwell. 
But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.(ESV)

But as for me and my house…….nice sentiment, cool verse, sounds very Godly…..is it true? Are you and your house serving the Lord? Are you where the Lord told you to be? Are you doing the things the Lord has told you to do? Are you NOT doing the things the Lord has told you NOT to do?

First Commandment:

Exodus 20:
And God spoke all these words, saying,
I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery.
“You shall have no other gods before me.(ESV)

Greatest Commandment:

Matthew 22:
37 Jesus said to him, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’
38 This is the first and great commandment.(NKJV)

Is there a difference between the Lord you’re serving and the Lord you’d prefer to serve, hope to serve, wish to serve or would like to serve?  If there is, then there’s some changes that need to be made.  Now what?

Ezekiel 18:
21 “But if a wicked person turns away from all his sins that he has committed and keeps all my statutes and does what is just and right, he shall surely live; he shall not die. 22 None of the transgressions that he has committed shall be remembered against him; for the righteousness that he has done he shall live. 23 Have I any pleasure in the death of the wicked, declares the Lord God, and not rather that he should turn from his way and live? 24 But when a righteous person turns away from his righteousness and does injustice and does the same abominations that the wicked person does, shall he live? None of the righteous deeds that he has done shall be remembered; for the treachery of which he is guilty and the sin he has committed, for them he shall die.

25 “Yet you say, ‘The way of the Lord is not just.’ Hear now, O house of Israel: Is my way not just? Is it not your ways that are not just? 26 When a righteous person turns away from his righteousness and does injustice, he shall die for it; for the injustice that he has done he shall die. 27 Again, when a wicked person turns away from the wickedness he has committed and does what is just and right, he shall save his life. 28 Because he considered and turned away from all the transgressions that he had committed, he shall surely live; he shall not die. 29 Yet the house of Israel says, ‘The way of the Lord is not just.’ O house of Israel, are my ways not just? Is it not your ways that are not just?

30 “Therefore I will judge you, O house of Israel, every one according to his ways, declares the Lord God. Repent and turn from all your transgressions, lest iniquity be your ruin. 31 Cast away from you all the transgressions that you have committed, and make yourselves a new heart and a new spirit! Why will you die, O house of Israel? 32 For I have no pleasure in the death of anyone, declares the Lord God; so turn, and live.”(ESV)

I’ve tried to make Jesus Lord but I always end up back on the throne, besides I’m sure He gets tired of me asking for forgiveness anyway. I’ve sinned past the point of forgiveness, there is no hope for me.

Jeremiah 29:
12 Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.13 And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.1I will be found by you, says the Lord, and I will bring you back from your captivity; I will gather you from all the nations and from all the places where I have driven you, says the Lord, and I will bring you to the place from which I cause you to be carried away captive.(NKJV)

Luke 17:
Take heed to yourselves. If your brother sins against you, rebuke him; and if he repents, forgive him.And if he sins against you seven times in a day, and seven times in a day returns to you, saying, ‘I repent,’ you shall forgive him.”(NKJV)

Acts 26:
19 “Therefore, King Agrippa, I was not disobedient to the heavenly vision, 20 but declared first to those in Damascus and in Jerusalem, and throughout all the region of Judea, and then to the Gentiles, that they should repent, turn to God, and do works befitting repentance.(NKJV)

2 Chronicles 7:
14 if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land. 15 Now my eyes will be open and my ears attentive to the prayer that is made in this place. 16 For now I have chosen and consecrated this house that my name may be there forever. My eyes and my heart will be there for all time.(ESV)

…if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin…

The Prodigal Son

Luke 15:
18 I will arise and go to my father, and I will say to him, “Father, I have sinned against heaven and before you. 19 I am no longer worthy to be called your son. Treat me as one of your hired servants.”’ 20 And he arose and came to his father. But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and felt compassion, and ran and embraced him and kissed him. 21 And the son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and before you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’ 22 But the father said to his servants, ‘Bring quickly the best robe, and put it on him, and put a ring on his hand, and shoes on his feet. 23 And bring the fattened calf and kill it, and let us eat and celebrate. 24 For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found. And they began to celebrate.(ESV)

The LORD is the LORD, your obedience or rebellion does not change who He is. He is larger than the enormity of your sin. He is able and more than willing to forgive your sin and receive you back but He does require you to acknowledge and confess your sin, repent and turn from it, and seek Him.

Who’s your LORD?
One comment on “Who’s Your Lord?

Leave a Reply

