Child-like faith


A friend asked me if I thought I have child-like faith, as with most things in my Far Side type point of view, that question comes at me from two perspectives. Is my faith immature, childish and undeveloped or is my faith totally trusting, innocent, pure and believing without question?

My faith may be more teenagerish(is that a word?) than child-like. Sometimes I’m stubborn and hard-headed. I have to be told over and over and over again. I whine and I pout. I want to do things my own way even though they just don’t work when you neglect to do them God’s way.

Luke 18:15 Some people brought their little children for Jesus to bless. But when his disciples saw them doing this, they told the people to stop bothering him. 16 So Jesus called the children over to him and said, “Let the children come to me! Don’t try to stop them. People who are like these children belong to God’s kingdom. 17 You will never get into God’s kingdom unless you enter it like a child!”(Contemporary English Version)

You will never get into God’s kingdom unless you enter it like a child!”  That’s a powerful, definitive statement but what does it mean? How do you enter it like a child? There’s another time where Jesus uses children as an example to his disciples. In Matthew 18 when they are arguing about which of them will be the greatest in the kingdom.

James: “I’m the greatest!”

John: “No, I’m the greatest!”

Peter: “You two idiots are both wrong, I’m the greatest!”

Peter,James,John:”Jesus, would you mind settling this. Which of us is the greatest?”

You can just see Jesus shaking his head, “Really guys? Y’all got nothing better to do?”

Matthew 18:About this time the disciples came to Jesus and asked him who would be the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. Jesus called a child over and had the child stand near him. Then he said:I promise you this. If you don’t change and become like a child, you will never get into the kingdom of heaven. But if you are as humble as this child, you are the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And when you welcome one of these children because of me, you welcome me.It will be terrible for people who cause even one of my little followers to sin. Those people would be better off thrown into the deepest part of the ocean with a heavy stone tied around their necks!(Contemporary English Version)

So what did Jesus tells His disciples, “If you don’t change and become like a child, you will never get into the kingdom of heaven.  But if you are as humble as this child, you are the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” Probably a bit of a wake up call to His disciples and should be an eye opener to anyone that thinks they are good enough to get in. The answer appears to have to do with humbling yourself and putting away pride given they were arguing about who was going to be the greatest.

Matthew 14:29 “Come on!” Jesus said. Peter then got out of the boat and started walking on the water toward him.30 But when Peter saw how strong the wind was, he was afraid and started sinking. “Save me, Lord!” he shouted.31 Right away, Jesus reached out his hand. He helped Peter up and said, “You surely don’t have much faith. Why do you doubt?”(Contemporary English Version)

If there had been a child in the boat and Jesus called that child to him, would the child have had to call out to the Lord or would he have simply walked to Jesus? What type of faith do you have?

By Jason Posted in faith

Leave a Reply

