Why does someone go to a church for the first time?


One of the first questions that came to my mind when we first started participating in the church plant group was, “Why does someone go to a church for the first time?”.

For me and my wife, it was as simple as location. The church we had attended for 9 or 10 years previously was increasingly becoming more and more…..let’s say dysfunctional, so we were ripe for a change of venue. I started to feel a compulsion to visit a church that I had driven past countless times, so we decided to visit. We chose to visit on a Wednesday, after all there’s no better way of gauging the pulse of a prospective church than to visit on a Wednesday night. 😉

I posed the question to several Christian co-workers, “Why did you visit the church you’re currently attending for the first time?” The responses I received were at first silly, “free beer” was a reply but in the end the first three people I asked had a friend, relative, neighbor or acquaintance that had invited them.

So, how about you? Why did you visit the church you’re currently attending for the first time?

Leave a Reply

